The caudal fin is divided into two lobes: a larger dorsal lobe and a smaller ventral lobe. This type of tail is known as a heterocercal tail.

What is the structure of the caudal fin?

The caudal peduncle is the base of the caudal fin. Peduncle means stem, and the caudal peduncle is where the strong swimming muscles of the tail are found. Together, the caudal fin acts like a “propeller” for the fish, and the caudal peduncle acts like a motor.

What are the two parts of a fish fin called?

The bottom fin at the back of the fish is called the anal fin. The tail fin is called the caudal fin. Pectoral and pelvic fins come in pairs.

What is the caudal of a shark?

Tail. The tail of a shark consists of the caudal peduncle and the caudal fin, which provide the main source of thrust for the shark. Most sharks have heterocercal caudal fins, meaning that the backbone extends into the (usually longer) upper lobe.

What are the two fins on the top of the shark on its back called?

Types Of Shark Fins

Sharks all have a pair of dorsal fins, a pair of pectoral fins, a pair of ventral fins, and a caudal fin. Some different species of shark also have a singular anal fin.

How does the top lobe of the caudal fin compared to the bottom lobe of the caudal fin?

This means that the upper and lower lobe of the tail fin are similar in size. The tail of the blue shark, like the one shown here is non-lunate. The upper lobe of the caudal fin is much larger than the lower lobe. Like other fish, sharks possess an internal skeleton.

What are fins made of?

Fins are distinctive anatomical features composed of bony spines or rays protruding from the body of a fish. They are covered with skin and joined together either in a webbed fashion, as seen in most bony fish, or similar to a flipper, as seen in sharks.

Where is the caudal fin on a fish?

The caudal fin, or tail fin, is located at the end of a fish and provides the power to move a fish forward. It also acts like a rudder to help a fish steer. Caudal fins come in a variety of shapes – forked, heart-shaped, square or rounded.

What are the different types of caudal fins?

The main types of Caudal fins found in bony fish are:

  • Indented.
  • Round.
  • Square.
  • Forked.
  • Lunate.
  • Pointed.