There are three main types of cnidae: nematocysts, ptychocysts, and spirocysts, with many variations. Depending on the species, one or more types may be on the organism. Nematocyst.

What are the types of nematocyst?

Types of Nematocysts:

Penetrant: The penetrant, also known as the stenotele, is the biggest and therefore most complex of the nematocysts. Once it is released, it penetrates the prey’s surface or chitinous exoskeleton and inserts a venomous fluid called hypnotoxin, which either paralyses or destroys the victim.

How many nematocysts are there?

Each tentacle contains about 5,000 stinging nematocysts, housed in cells called cnidoblasts. Nematocysts are like little stinging darts that fire whenever the tentacle comes in contact with chemicals on the surface of its prey.

What are 3 functions of cnidocytes nematocysts?

Structure and function

  • Cnidocyte capsule composition.
  • Discharge mechanism.
  • Prey detection.

What are nematocysts?

Nematocysts or cnidocysts represent the common feature of all cnidarians. They are large organelles produced from the Golgi apparatus as a secretory product within a specialized cell, the nematocyte or cnidocyte. Nematocysts are predominantly used for prey capture and defense, but also for locomotion.

What is nematocyst answer Class 9?

nematocyst, minute, elongated, or spherical capsule produced exclusively by members of the phylum Cnidaria (e.g., jellyfish, corals, sea anemones). Several such capsules occur on the body surface.

Leave a Reply