In biology, a phylum (/ˈfaɪləm/; plural: phyla) is a level of classification or taxonomic ranktaxonomic rankThere are seven main taxonomic ranks: kingdom, phylum or division, class, order, family, genus, species. In addition, domain (proposed by Carl Woese) is now widely used as a fundamental rank, although it is not mentioned in any of the nomenclature codes, and is a synonym for dominion (lat.

How many classifications of phylum are there?

The word was later changed to phylum. There are approximately 35 animal phyla, 12 plant phyla, and 7 phyla of fungi. The bacteria, including the archaea, are grouped into roughly 34 phyla, although the relationships between these groups are not as well established.

What is phylum and its types?

The different phylum of the animal kingdom are as follows: Porifera. Coelenterata (Cnidaria) Platyhelminthes. Nematoda.

What are the 4 types of phylum?

The different phyla in the classification of animals are as follows: Phylum Porifera. Phylum Coelenterata. Phylum Platyhelminthes.

What are the 7 types of phylum?

The Animal Kingdom contains these seven Phyla: Porifera, Cnidaria, Platyhelminthes, Annelida, Mollusca, Arthropoda, and Chordata.

How are phylum organisms classified?

Phylum. The phylum (plural, phyla) ranks below the kingdom and above the class in taxonomy. Scientists generally use the term phylum for archaea, bacteria, protists, fungi, and animals, but they substitute the term division for plants. Organisms are classified in a phylum or division based largely on general body plan.

What are the 9 phylum?

The most easily recognised are Porifera, Cnidaria, Arthropoda, Nematoda, Annelida, Mollusca, Platyhelminthes, Echinodermata, and Chordata.

What are the three characteristics of phylum?

They are:

  • Notochord– It is a longitudinal rod that is made of cartilage and runs between the nerve cord and the digestive tract. …
  • Dorsal Nerve Cord – This is a bundle of nerve fibres which connects the brain to the muscles and other organs.
  • Post-anal tail – This is an extension of the body beyond the anus.

What are examples of phylum?

A Brief List Of 21 Animal Phyla

  • Phylum Porifera (Sponges) …
  • Phylum Coelenterata (Cnidaria) Corals & Jellyfish. …
  • Phylum Ctenophora (Comb Jellies) …
  • Phylum Platyhelminthes (Flatworms) …
  • Phylum Nemertea (Ribbon Worms) …
  • Phylum Rotifera (Rotifers) …
  • Phylum Gastrotricha (Gastrotrichs) …
  • Phylum Nematomorpha (Horsehair Worms)

What are the 5 classification of animal?

Vertebrates are further broken down into five classes: amphibians, birds, fish, mammals, and reptiles. Animals without a backbone are invertebrates.

How many classifications of animals are there?

Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. The following is a list of the classes in each phylum of the kingdom Animalia. There are 107 classes of animals in 33 phyla in this list. However, different sources give different numbers of classes and phyla.

What are the 7 levels of classification from largest to smallest?

1. Linnaeus’ hierarchical system of classification includes seven levels. They are, from largest to smallest, kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species.