Almost all arthropods lay eggs, but many species give birth to live young after the eggs have hatched inside the mother, and a few are genuinely viviparous, such as aphids.

Are arthropods viviparous or Oviparous?

Vector Life Cycle Strategies. Most bloodsucking arthropods are oviparous, with the exception of some Diptera (including the tsetse) which are ovoviviparous (the egg hatches within the uterus and the larva feeds on secretions produced by milk glands).

What are the 9 characteristics of arthropods?

Arthropoda is the largest phylum with about nine lakh species. They may be aquatic, terrestrial or even parasitic.
Frequently Asked Questions

  • They possess an exoskeleton.
  • They have jointed appendages.
  • Their body is segmented.
  • They are bilaterally symmetrical.
  • They possess an open circulatory system.

Which of the following is a class of phylum Arthropoda?

The phylum Arthropoda is commonly divided into four subphyla of extant forms: Chelicerata (arachnids), Crustacea (crustaceans), Hexapoda (insects and springtails), and Myriapoda (millipedes and centipedes).

Which are not arthropods?

The Department of Non-Arthropod Invertebrates of the museum contains close to 100,000 specimens of a huge diversity of biological types of highly diverse evolutionary origins: sponges, coral, molluscs, worms of all kinds, starfish, jellyfish, sea urchins and others.

Which arthropods viviparous?

  • A viviparous arthropod is an arthropod that doesn’t lay an egg but give birth to the live young.
  • Millipede, centipede and hermit crab lays the egg but scorpion keeps the fertilized eggs in her body until they get hatched and give birth to live young instead of laying eggs.
  • Are all arthropods oviparous?

    Is this correct? dear student, most of the arthropods are egg laying i.e. oviparous (centipede, millipede, hermit crab) and in some cases like of spider (Palamnaeus ) the eggs hatch inside the female body so they are called as viviparous arthropods.

    What are the 4 main classes of arthropods?

    Arthropods are divided into four major groups:

    • insects;
    • myriapods (including centipedes and millipedes);
    • arachnids (including spiders, mites and scorpions);
    • crustaceans (including slaters, prawn and crabs).

    What are the five common characteristics of arthropods?

    All arthropods share these characteristics:

    • Exoskeleton. An exoskeleton is the supporting structure on the outside of the body of an arthropod. …
    • Segmented bodies.
    • Jointed appendages such as mouthparts and antennae.
    • Bilateral symmetry. …
    • Dorsal blood vessel.
    • Ventral nerve cord.